Childhood memories

307340_1798662705741_630385524_n

I was born a year before the communist regime fell in Romania and I really don’t have any memories of that period but I have other happy memories that I wish my kids could make, memories of a worry free childhood even tho a whole country was recovering and trying to adapt to a new way of life.

I remember in the summer I was waking up early in the morning to get ready to go out and hang out with my friends around the block and I was feeling the more I would stay inside the apartment the less time I would have to play. We didn’t have IPads and IPods and IPhones and IEverything, what we had was a big imagination. We would play all day and not worry about a thing, we would go to the local bakery and buy a loaf of bread and we would share it. Sometimes if we would want something sweet we would wet the bread and add sugar on it. We knew where the limits were when we were playing around the block and our parents would trust us.

One of the reasons I know how to make clothes and make my own clothes now it’s because i use to make them for my dolls that I got as a present from my uncle that was living in US, and oh how i treasured those dolls! My mom still has them in her apartment in Romania and they are in such a good condition. I would make clothes for my dolls and then trade them with my friends and we would rotate them between us so our dolls would have new stuff every week. That was serious trade!

I wish for kids nowadays to stop using technology as a way of entertainment and use their imagination and what nature has to offer more. I have nothing against technology and nothing against using it (my kid is using it too) but as parents we need to set limits and let our kids be wild and enjoy little things, they will thank us later.

RL

Childhood 

Leave a Reply

